Compare
Tree Atlas vs OTISS: feature comparison
Tree Atlas and OTISS both record BS 5837 tree surveys and work out root protection areas. OTISS survey apps run on Android, and OTISS says they do not run on iPhones or iPads. Tree Atlas runs on iPhone and iPad. The table compares devices, survey features, outputs, sign-off and trials. We make Tree Atlas.
Updated . OTISS facts checked 3 Nov 2026 on otiss.co.uk. We make Tree Atlas. Spot something out of date? Email us.
Thinking of moving from OTISS? Read the OTISS alternative switching guide.
How do Tree Atlas and OTISS compare, feature by feature?
Not stated means we did not find it on the OTISS pages we checked. It does not mean the feature is missing. The small numbers link to the OTISS page for each fact. Tree Atlas cells were checked against our own code.
| Feature | Tree Atlas | OTISS |
|---|---|---|
| Devices | ||
| iPhone and iPad | Yes, on the App Store | No. OTISS says its survey apps do not run on iPhones or iPads at present. 1 |
| Android | Built and in testing. Not on Google Play yet. | Yes, phones and tablets, Android 5.x and above. 2 1 |
| Works offline | Yes. Trees, photos, measurements and voice notes save on the phone. | "Most of the time". Offline OpenStreetMap on Premium. 1 8 |
| BS 5837 survey | ||
| Root protection area | Yes, multi-stem too. 12 × stem diameter for every tree (rule rpa-v1). | Yes, multi-stem too. 15 × stem diameter for veteran trees. 3 4 |
| Category | Proposed from a stated rule set; your choice is final. Rule version stamped on each tree and report. | Icons coloured by retention category. A rule version stamp is not described. 3 |
| Tree Constraints Plan | Yes. A3 PDF drawn from the records, issued with the report. | Simple constraints and protection plans. For protection plans, OTISS says it cannot replace CAD. 5 |
| Tree Protection Plan | No | Simple plans; finish in CAD. 5 |
| Outputs | ||
| CAD | DXF with a layer per category. No DWG. | DXF with tree icons, RPA and shadow arcs. 5 |
| Schedule and report | BS 5837 report PDF with method appendix; schedule CSV. | Excel report templates; fixed PDF reports; CSV for Qarb. 2 6 5 |
| Team and sign-off | ||
| Team access | Web desk with a review queue. Owners, surveyors and reviewers. | Web site with Admin, Manager, Surveyor and Viewer access. 7 |
| Signed revisions | Yes, kept as issued, with what changed since the last signed revision. | Not stated 2 |
| On site | ||
| Voice | Recorded voice notes, transcribed. Transcription can be turned off. | Voice typing in text fields through Android Google Voice Typing. 2 |
| Species from a photo | Suggested from the photo; saved only when you confirm. | Not stated 2 |
| External GNSS receiver | Not offered | Yes, sub-metre receivers. 3 |
| Buying | ||
| Price | £49 plus VAT a month, Solo, up to 2 users | On its costs page: annual, per user, plus VAT. Plan prices are not in the page text. 8 |
| Free trial | 30 days, every feature, no card | 30 days, every feature, trees capped. 9 |
For TreeCanopy and KeyTREE as well, see Tree Atlas compared with OTISS, TreeCanopy and KeyTREE.
How does Tree Atlas help?
Tree Atlas records BS 5837 surveys on iPhone and iPad, proposes the category, works out the RPA, and produces the report, the Tree Constraints Plan, the CSV and the DXF from the same records.
- BS 5837 survey software
Record each tree on site, then sign and send the report and Tree Constraints Plan.
- Free RPA calculator
The root protection area from the stem diameter, single or multi-stem, with the working.
- Sample report (PDF)
An example BS 5837 report from Tree Atlas, with the schedule and method appendix.
- Start your 30-day free trial
Every feature. No card is needed to start.
Tree Atlas vs OTISS questions
Does OTISS work on iPhone or iPad?
Not at present. OTISS says its mobile survey apps do not run on iPhones or iPads, and lists iPhone and iPad on its wish list. Tree Atlas runs on iPhone and iPad.
Do OTISS and Tree Atlas have a free trial?
Yes, both. OTISS offers a 30-day trial with every feature and a cap on the number of trees. Tree Atlas offers a 30-day trial with every feature and no card.
Where do these facts come from?
Each note is our summary of the OTISS page linked, checked on 3 Nov 2026. OTISS belongs to Pear Technology Services Ltd. Tree Atlas is not connected with OTISS. Check the OTISS pages before you buy.
- 1OTISS, which Android device. Says its mobile survey apps do not run on iPhones or iPads at present, and run on Android 5.x and above. Says the apps can work most of the time without an internet connection. otiss.co.uk/w/general/which-android
- 2OTISS, consultants. Android phones and tablets; iPhone, iPad and Microsoft on its wish list; voice input through Android Google Voice Typing; template-driven Excel reports and PDF reports with your logo. otiss.co.uk/w/consultants/consultants
- 3OTISS, BS5837 surveys. Automatic RPA, including multiple stems; colour-coded icons by BS5837 retention category; external GPS or GNSS receivers with sub-metre accuracy; Premium users can modify the RPA on the map. otiss.co.uk/w/consultants/bs5837-surveys
- 4OTISS help, BS5837 survey. For veteran trees the RPA is 15 times the stem diameter, "as per the 2017 guidance". otiss.co.uk/support/help/bs5837-survey
- 5OTISS help, CAD and DXF for BS5837. "On its own OTISS can provide simple Tree Constraints plan and Tree Protection plans"; "for the protection plans, we cannot replace CAD"; DXF with tree icons, RPA and shadow arcs; a CSV for Qarb. otiss.co.uk/support/help/caddxf-bs5837
- 6OTISS help, BS5837 reports. Excel report templates in your company style; the PDF reports cannot be customised directly. otiss.co.uk/support/help/bs5837-reports
- 7OTISS, consultancies. Team access levels Admin, Manager, Surveyor and Viewer. otiss.co.uk/w/consultants/consultancies
- 8OTISS, costs. Standard plan: up to 100 clients, 100 trees per client. Premium: unlimited clients, up to 5,000 trees per client, with offline OpenStreetMap. Annual subscription per user, prices exclusive of VAT. The Standard and Premium plan prices load in the page and are not in its text, so we quote no figure. otiss.co.uk/w/consultants/costs
- 9OTISS, free trial. A free 30-day trial with all features, limited in the number of trees; trial sites are kept when you subscribe. We did not find whether a card is needed. otiss.co.uk/w/free-trial
Try Tree Atlas on your iPhone or iPad
Solo is £49 a month plus VAT (£58.80 including VAT) after a 30-day free trial. No card is needed to start.
- No card
- Cancel any time
- Works offline
- Survey data stored in the EU