Buyer’s guide
Software for UK tree surgeons: five apps compared
Five apps for quoting, recording and running tree work in the UK. What each one is good at, what it costs, and where it falls short.
The short answer
There is no single best app. It depends on your phones, your office and whether you also do tree surveys for planning.
Quotes, crews and accounts in one office system: look at Arb Pro Software. It is built for tree contractors and syncs with Sage, QuickBooks, Xero and KashFlow.
Voice-first recording, with quotes paid by card: look at TreeCanopy. It is on the App Store and Google Play.
A wider field service system, on iOS and Android: look at Joblogic.
Tree work and BS 5837 surveys from one iPhone or iPad app: look at Tree Atlas. That is us. It is £49 a month plus VAT for you and one worker.
An Android-only consultancy doing BS 5837 work: look at OTISS.
The five apps
In no order of merit. We list our own app first so you know where it is. The numbers in each card link to the sources.
-
01
Tree Atlas
Our appBest for: tree surgeons and arb consultants who want jobs, quotes and BS 5837 surveys in one iPhone or iPad app.
- Key features
- Start a job from a name and address. Each photo becomes a tree, placed by GPS.
- Voice notes on each tree, transcribed for you.
- Proposals your client signs online. Signed work becomes tasks with reminders.
- BS 5837 categories and root protection areas, the report PDF, a Tree Constraints Plan, CSV and DXF.
- Starting price
- £49 a month plus VAT (£58.80 with VAT). Solo, up to 2 users. See pricing.
- Free trial
- 30 days, every feature, no card. The demo needs no sign-up.
- Devices
- iPhone and iPad on the App Store, and a web desk. Android is built and in testing, not on Google Play yet.
Pros
- Tree work and BS 5837 surveys in the same app, so a job can become a survey.
- Trees, photos, measurements and voice notes save on the phone when you have no signal.
- The web desk lets an owner check and sign work before it goes out.
Cons
- Not on Google Play yet.
- Does not send invoices or take card payments. Signed work exports as a CSV that Xero imports as draft invoices.
- Only Solo is on sale, for up to 2 users. Larger team plans are not on sale yet.
- Creating a new site needs signal.
See Tree Atlas for tree work, BS 5837 survey software and the sample report.
-
02
Arb Pro Software
Best for: tree contractors who want quotes, crew work sheets and accounts in one office system.
- Key features
- Arb Office for quotes, invoices and risk assessments.
- Arb Quotes app: costs, photos, tree locations on a map, tools and risk assessments on site. Customer data is stored on the device, and work uploads when you sync.
- Arb Work crew app: customer signature at the end of the job, and an invoice sent from site.
- Syncs with Sage, QuickBooks, Xero or KashFlow, and with Google Calendar.
- Starting price
- £60 a month plus VAT. Tree Contractor Lite: 1 desktop, 1 quoting and 1 work app user. Extra mobile users £10 plus VAT a month.
- Free trial
- Not stated. It offers a free demo.
- Devices
- Web, with no software to install. Arb Quotes on iPhone and iPad; its Android app is due in 2026. Arb Work on iOS and Android.
Pros
- Made for tree contractors in the UK.
- Quotes, crew work and invoices join up, with a customer signature on site.
- Accounts sync with four common UK packages.
Cons
- The quoting app is not on Android yet.
- BS 5837 surveys are not mentioned on its home page.
- No free trial is stated.
-
03
TreeCanopy
Best for: arborists who would rather speak each tree than type it, and want quotes paid by card.
- Key features
- Voice-first survey: say the species, size and condition at the tree.
- Priced quotes the customer accepts and pays by card, then jobs and invoices.
- A BS 5837 report pack for UK planning work.
- Exports listed: GeoJSON, Shapefile and CSV, for QGIS or ArcGIS.
- Starting price
- £24.99 a month, or £199.99 a year. Solo, one office seat; crew seats free. Practice Crew is £129.99 a month for 5 office seats. VAT basis not stated.
- Free trial
- 14 days, no card. Limited to 20 voice notes and 2 reports.
- Devices
- iPhone and iPad on the App Store, and Android on Google Play.
Pros
- The lowest monthly starting price of the five.
- Free crew seats.
- Species suggestions from a photo, which the surveyor confirms. Works without signal and syncs later.
Cons
- Its pages do not say whether prices include VAT.
- After the trial, the account is read-only until you subscribe.
- The trial caps voice notes and reports.
-
04
Joblogic
Best for: growing firms that want a full field service system, with recurring jobs and an engineer app.
- Key features (Standard)
- Customer, site and asset management.
- Jobs and costing, quotes and invoices, with Stripe.
- Mobile engineer app, job planner and recurring jobs.
- Electronic forms, and standard reports and dashboards.
Premium, price on request, adds PPM contracts, route scheduling, engineer tracking, timesheets and audits.
- Starting price
- From £49 per user a month, billed annually (Standard). VAT basis not stated. Contracts are typically 24 or 36 months.
- Free trial
- Free trial, no card (length not stated).
- Devices
- An offline app for iOS and Android, and a web office system.
Pros
- On iOS and Android, and works offline.
- Recurring jobs and a job planner on Standard.
- Its tree service page lists links to five accounting packages, including Sage and Xero.
Cons
- General field service software, not built only for trees.
- Priced per user, so a crew of five costs five times as much.
- PPM contracts and route scheduling are Premium, price on request.
- BS 5837 surveys are not mentioned on its tree service page.
-
05
OTISS
Best for: Android-only arb consultancies doing BS 5837 surveys, with Excel reports and DXF for CAD.
- Key features
- BS5837 survey app that works out root protection areas, multi-stem too.
- DXF with tree icons, root protection areas and shadow arcs.
- Simple constraints and protection plans, and Excel schedules.
- Team access levels per client on its web site.
- Starting price
- Price shown on the OTISS costs page. Standard BS5837 plan: up to 100 clients, 100 trees each.
- Free trial
- 30 days, full features, with a cap on trees.
- Devices
- Android phones and tablets. It says its survey apps do not run on iPhone or iPad.
Pros
- Separate plans for BS 5837, tree safety, or both together.
- Mature DXF output for CAD.
- Trial data is kept when you subscribe.
Cons
- No iPhone or iPad app.
- Aimed at consultants, estates and trails. Its home page does not mention quotes or invoices for tree surgeons.
- Voice input is Android voice typing, not recorded notes.
Side by side
Not stated means we could not find it on the company’s own pages. It does not mean the feature is missing. For BS 5837 work in more detail, see Tree Atlas compared with OTISS, TreeCanopy and KeyTREE.
| App | Best for | iPhone and iPad | Android | Quotes and invoices | BS 5837 | Starting price | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tree Atlas | Tree work and BS 5837 in one app | Yes | Built, not released | Signed proposals; Xero CSV for invoices | Yes, with plan, CSV and DXF | £49 a month plus VAT, up to 2 users | 30 days, no card |
| Arb Pro Software | Office system for tree contractors | Yes 3 | Crew app yes; quoting app due 2026 3 4 | Yes, both 2 4 | Not stated 2 | £60 a month plus VAT 1 | Not stated; free demo 1 |
| TreeCanopy | Voice-first recording | Yes 7 | Yes, Google Play 5 6 | Yes, both, paid by card 5 | Yes, report pack 5 | £24.99 a month, VAT not stated 5 6 | 14 days, no card 5 |
| Joblogic | Full field service system | Yes 8 | Yes 8 | Yes, both 8 | Not stated 8 | From £49 per user a month, billed annually 9 | Yes, no card 9 |
| OTISS | Android BS 5837 consultancies | No 12 | Yes 10 | Not stated 15 | Yes, with DXF 10 14 | Price shown on the OTISS costs page; up to 100 clients, 100 trees each 11 | 30 days, trees capped 13 |
Cost for you plus one worker, per month, before VAT where stated
- Tree Atlas: £49. Solo covers 2 users. Plus VAT.
- Arb Pro Software: £60. Tree Contractor Lite includes 1 desktop, 1 quoting and 1 work app user. Plus VAT. 1
- TreeCanopy: £24.99. Solo has 1 office seat; crew seats are free. VAT basis not stated. For 5 office seats, Practice Crew is £129.99. 6
- Joblogic: £98. 2 users × £49, billed annually. VAT basis not stated. 9
- OTISS: see its costs page. 11
How to choose
Ask these six questions before you sign up to anything.
What phones does your crew use?
If anyone carries Android, check the app is on Google Play today, not coming soon. If you are all on iPhone, most of these will do.
Where do you lose the most time?
If it is quoting and chasing, pick the app with the best quotes. If it is writing up surveys, pick the one that writes the report for you.
Do you survey trees for planning?
BS 5837 work needs categories, root protection areas, a report and a Tree Constraints Plan. Only some of these apps do it.
What happens with no signal?
Back gardens and woods often have none. Ask exactly what saves on the phone, and what needs signal, before you rely on it.
What does it cost with your whole team?
Add up every user, the VAT and the contract length. A low price per user can cost more once the crew is on it.
Can you get your data out?
Check you can export your trees, jobs and photos, for example as CSV, if you ever leave.
Want to see one before you decide? Open the Tree Atlas demo, read a sample BS 5837 report, or see pricing.
Questions
What software do UK tree surgeons use?
Most small firms start with paper, a phone camera and a spreadsheet. The apps built for the trade cover quotes, jobs and photos on site. Arb Pro Software and TreeCanopy are built for tree work. Joblogic is general field service software with a tree service page. Tree Atlas and OTISS also do BS 5837 tree surveys.
How much does tree surgeon software cost?
It depends on how many people use it. For you plus one worker, per month, from each company’s own page on 2 Nov 2026: Tree Atlas £49 plus VAT, as Solo covers 2 users. Arb Pro £60 plus VAT, for Tree Contractor Lite. TreeCanopy £24.99, as crew seats are free; its VAT basis is not stated. Joblogic £98, as 2 users at £49 billed annually; its VAT basis is not stated.
Is there software that works on Android?
Yes. Joblogic says its mobile app is for iOS and Android. Arb Pro says its Arb Work crew app is on iOS and Android, and that its Android quoting app is due in 2026. TreeCanopy is on Google Play and the App Store. OTISS survey apps run on Android only. Tree Atlas for Android is built and in testing, but it is not on Google Play yet.
Do I need BS 5837 features as a tree surgeon?
Only if you survey trees for planning applications. BS 5837:2012 surveys need a category of A, B, C or U and a root protection area for each tree, a report and a Tree Constraints Plan. If you only quote and do the work, you can ignore it. Tree Atlas does both in one app.
Can I try before I pay?
Tree Atlas has a 30-day free trial with no card, and a demo with no sign-up. TreeCanopy has a 14-day trial with no card, OTISS a 30-day trial with a cap on trees, and Joblogic a free trial with no card. Arb Pro offers a free demo; we found no trial on its pricing page.
Does Tree Atlas send invoices?
No. Your client signs a proposal online, and on the web desk the signed work exports as a CSV that Xero imports as draft invoices. Tree Atlas does not send invoices or take card payments itself.
Sources
Each fact about another company is our summary of its own page, on the date shown. Tree Atlas facts are from our pricing, tree work and help pages.
- 1Arb Pro Software, pricing. Plans, extra users, demo. Checked 2 Nov 2026. arbprosoftware.com/pricing
- 2Arb Pro Software, home page. Arb Office, accounts and calendar sync, devices. Checked 2 Nov 2026. arbprosoftware.com
- 3Arb Pro Software, Arb Quotes. Quoting app; customer data stored on the device and uploaded on sync; Android due in 2026. Checked 2 Nov 2026. arbprosoftware.com/arb-quotes
- 4Arb Pro Software, Arb Work. Crew app on iOS and Android, signatures, invoices from site. Checked 2 Nov 2026. arbprosoftware.com/arb-work
- 5TreeCanopy, home page. Voice survey, quotes, jobs, invoices, BS 5837 pack (bundled), exports listed, on Google Play and the App Store. Checked 2 Nov 2026. treecanopy.app
- 6TreeCanopy, pricing. Solo, Practice Crew and Enterprise prices; no VAT mentioned; App Store and Google Play links; trial. Checked 2 Nov 2026. treecanopy.app/pricing
- 7TreeCanopy, App Store listing. iPhone and iPad, species from a photo, offline, trial limits. Checked 29 Oct 2026. apps.apple.com/gb/app/id6769797509
- 8Joblogic, tree service software. Quotes, invoices, accounting links, offline app for iOS and Android. Checked 2 Nov 2026. joblogic.com/tree-service-software
- 9Joblogic, pricing. Standard features and price (from £49 per user a month, billed annually); Premium features, price on request; trial; contract length. Checked 2 Nov 2026. joblogic.com/pricing
- 10OTISS, BS5837 surveys. Root protection areas, Android apps. Checked 29 Oct 2026. otiss.co.uk/w/consultants/bs5837-surveys
- 11OTISS, costs. Standard BS5837 plan limits (up to 100 clients, 100 trees each) and add-on prices, checked 2 Nov 2026. Plan prices load in the page and are not in its text, so we quote no figure. otiss.co.uk/w/consultants/costs
- 12OTISS, which Android device. Survey apps do not run on iPhone or iPad. Checked 29 Oct 2026. otiss.co.uk/w/general/which-android
- 13OTISS, free trial. 30 days, trees capped, data kept. Checked 29 Oct 2026. otiss.co.uk/w/free-trial
- 14OTISS, CAD and DXF help. DXF output, simple plans, Excel and CSV. Checked 29 Oct 2026. otiss.co.uk/support/help/caddxf-bs5837
- 15OTISS, home page. Consultants, estates and trails; no quotes or invoices mentioned. Checked 2 Nov 2026. otiss.co.uk
Arb Pro Software, TreeCanopy, Joblogic and OTISS belong to their owners. Tree Atlas is not connected with them. Prices are as each company shows them: check its own page before you buy.
Try Tree Atlas on your next job
Solo is £49 a month plus VAT (£58.80 including VAT) after a 30-day free trial. No card is needed to start.
- No card
- Cancel any time
- Works offline
- Survey data stored in the EU